some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

What makes people successful in life has always been a controversial issue. While some argue that having financial resources and physical beauty are the decisive factors to success, I would argue that being hard-working and determined are of greater significance no matter what people do.

It cannot be denied that hard work and determination are the keys to success. In other words, people can never fulfill the tasks given unless they devote a sufficient amount of time and make great effort. This is particularly true with manual workers such as builders and factory workers. To earn a living, these people have to work round the clock and even work overtime to cater to the most basic life demands. This is also the only way for them to gain experience and get promotion. Moreover, for all professions, no matter who people are, they are required to be determined to reach the target. If they are not persistent enough, they are more likely to give up, meaning their dreams will never come true.

However, having financial health and physical beauty are of equal significance in certain situations. They help individuals guarantee stability during their career path. In some Asian countries, for instance, job-seekers can only be recruited by state-owned enterprises if they submit a required amount of money to employers. In the same way, start-up businesses will face a high risk of bankruptcy unless they are financially healthy enough to cover all the costs, including purchasing input materials and facilities, monthly payments, and maintenance expenses. Besides, physical attractiveness is also considered the top priority in employment in such entertainment and services industries as models, actors and actresses, receptionists, and flight attendants. For these people, who have close contact with customers, it is their physical beauty that contributes to their being employed, otherwise, they will stand a high risk of being jobless.

All things considered, the key to success is the combination of many factors depending on the professions people are doing. Despite this, no matter what they do, it is important that they devote themselves to work and be persistent to reach the targets.