Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skill needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The main purpose of universities is a debatable topic. While some argue that the courses should provide access for student to knowledge whether it's practical to their future career or not, I believe the aim of university education is to teaching student essential knowledge and skill that would be useful for their job later.

First of all, there is no doubt that graduates must prepare knowledge and expertise in the field where they want to work. Good preparation allows them to get higher opportunities in career, also make a good impression to employers after they get into work. Besides, the company gets benefited from their new employee by reducing training time and cost, better organising and proper profession already. For example, an employee with no quality knowledge and skills on their major will get struggle while doing work and do it without the accuracy required by the employer. If the work was not done right, the company might face many problems with government and tax officers. Therefore, I firmly believe it's highly important for universities to teach the student knowledge and skills, which are essential to a business.

Secondly, not only the business get benefits from students with good abilities, but also the society can't be discounted in the context. Creating individuals with better skills create a healthier society. For instances, a doctor with universities degree and a good communication skill will delight many patients that come to him/her. If all people in a community get a proper expertise, especially working professional with universities degree, then the country's economy will be stimulated to a new level.

In concluding, universities provide quality knowledge and platform for all-round development will aid both individual and society. And to do that, I believe the right aim for those education institutions is to teach practical knowledge and skills for students.