some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; others think the true function of university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. what is your opinion of the main function of university?

The main purpose of tertiary education has engendered drastic controversy among public. While some people agree that university courses should be concerned with employment potentials, I am on board with the opinion that university education should mainly focus on the knowledge itself.

The reason I advocate for assimilating knowledge regardless of the employment trend would be its contribution to students’ creativity, as they are encouraged to be open-minded and think outside of the box. To illustrate, when courses are devised based on the demand of job market, students receive education that are limited to the occupational needs, less likely to challenge the status quo. By contrast, if young minds are encouraged to base their learning in any context, more chances are that they would relate various studies and information, in which way cultivate creativity and come up with novel ideas. Such ability is valued highly in today’s fast-changing working environment and would give students a competitive edge over others in search of jobs.

Some may argue that if universities only consider academic subjects and do not take the job market into account, their students would lack the essential knowledge and skills, and consequently fail to land a job after college. They believe students would feel more comfortable and confident in dealing with work-related problems, when they have access to relevant education in university. However, for me, such arguments could not hold water, as we are now living in a fast-changing world, and it is hard for university to predict precisely about the employment trend as well as the latest knowledge. The knowledge students learnt in university might be outdated in workplace. So it would be a waste of time and resource if university focus on offering curriculums based on employment needs.

To conclude, I believe devising courses based on job market is not suitable for today’s fast changing working environment, and the main function of tertiary education should be to develop various abilities in students to help them better embrace the challenges in the working environment.