Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There is a discussion of whether the university should establish the relative class which would be useful in the workplace. While some arguers claim that university should focus on the knowledge of books, I consider that practical training will be the priority.

One of the functions of universities is the inheritance of knowledge. It is believed that the rationale on the books is invaluable, and we should spend as much as time to study. If the practical training was added in the class, there could be a possibility that these lessons would cost the limited time of studying the theories. The other dubious assumption is that the teachers’ ability to teach students the pragmatic experience. Since the professors have had left the workplace for several years, it is doubtful that students who take the course could learn anything useful.

However, I believe that the training class could be the bridge between theory and pragmatism. To solve the problem of a lack of practical experience, the university may hire some business managers to teach the students. Through these training, the students could truly understand how they exert the knowledge in their heads. There is a common phenomenon in Taiwan that the business prefers the students from technical college than those from normal universities because the former can attribute themselves to the work immediately while the latter usually need some time to familiar the business. That will cause a problem that these students from a normal university are inferior to the graduates from technical college.

In conclusion. it is important that universities should focus on the knowledge for its own sakes, the pragmatical training among the students, however, cannot be ignored.