Some people think that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been proposed that communication on a global scale necessitates the advent of a novel language. While its benefits are discernible, it seems to me that this approach offers more drawbacks.

On the one hand, the proponents of a new language justify that it can facilitate universal understanding among linguistic communities. In particular, while there have been significant distinctions between languages in how their native speakers express a certain idea, a shared lingual system obviously can eradicate such differences. As a result, language barriers may be lifted, and conflicts are expected to vanish, since the same language can reduce misunderstanding and build up sympathy. However, over the past century, among scores of languages, several ones have emerged as indispensable for global communication, in which human beings are adept to assure a smooth linguistic exchange. Therefore, any effort to create a new language may be redundant.

On the other hand, I opine that the appearance of a new language will be problematic because of several reasons. To begin with, many people advocate that a harmonised linguistic system can simplify verbal factors involved in expressions; on the contrary, it is observed that it tends to obfuscate how we communicate, just as people use a long sentence to say “hello” in Esperanto. In other words, the acquisition of an International language may exert an immense pressure on learners, the majority of whom are inherently struggling in learning English or French. In addition, languages, which reflect cultural nuances, should be viewed as cultural heritage. Therefore, their oblivion, along with cultural homogenisation is foreseen if a shared language is applied on a global scale.

In conclusion, although language harmonisation is advantageous in international communication, I hold an opinion that its hurdles are more considerable.