Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed. However, some people think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Zoos are an important asset of our society, some people think they are inhuman and should be closed while others argue that they are helpful in saving endangered species. I, however, agree to the former view but I also believe that they have far much more positive aspects which outweigh the existence of zoos.

The cruel aspect of zoos have many reasons, firstly, the animals have to leave the habitat and independence which they were previously enjoying while living in a jungle or a forest, now being caged in a zoo they have to live a life of misery where they cannot enjoy a liberal life. Secondly, there is a limited amount of food supply in a zoo, while those animals enjoyed surplus amounts in their habitat, thus making their robust bodies weaker day by day. They, however, loose the tactics of preying their predators which they used to do while living in a jungle/forest. Finally, a few of these zoo animals get exploited by their caretakers who train them for various shows and generate money out of it. Taking an example of a dolphin which is widely used for shows, it is trained well and then performs paid shows which generates revenue for their owners.

Looking on the other side of the discussion which reveals more of the beneficial aspects of zoos to our society, like its contribution towards education, entertainment, conservation and research of animal behavior and anatomy. Zoo is a prime place to make an animal safe from outside dangers like hunters who hunt them for their meat, fur or leather. Moreover, they are practically important in educating public about the animal behavior, anatomy and also from research point of view. People paying visits to these zoos help them to strengthen themselves from the money they earn from people. In addition to this, in zoos breeding the endangered species take place which helps them to increase in their number and avoids them to extinct. Taking an example of giant panda which inhabits in China, is an endangered species now, previously it was hunted for its fur but now after great development of infrastructure its losing its natural habitat by the process of deforestation. Establishment of zoos will save these species from dying out.

After analyzing both the perspectives, I am of the opinion that zoos have a strong advantage for both, the endangered species as well as for the society, but the animal's dignity should be maintained and they should not be exploited.