Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The age at which a person chooses to stop working is the retirement age, but governments impose a mandatory retirement age. Hence, a substantial proportion of people claim that this age should be increased significantly due to citizens’ life expectancy has been prolonged. However, in my dissenting opinion, I think that the retirement age should remain intact extend it because this change leads to controversial issues.

One of the obvious drawbacks when raising the retirement age is placing an onerous burden on workplaces. This is because the elderly do not have the necessary energy to perform arduous tasks for their employers, so they hinder progress toward the goals and the expectations. Consequently, they contribute to inflicting serious losses where they do their jobs. For example, at production plants, if the supervisors are above the retirement age, they are not able to observe labourers closely; therefore, either the production falls or the profit plummet.

Furthermore, not only they could be a heavy load on the workplace but also, they might be the primary cause for the unemployment among young people. To enumerate, companies suffice with their headcount, for they have an adequate number of employees including seniors, which associate with a wide range of problems such as prevailing poverty as well as inequality in the distribution of wealth. Moreover, by elevating the retirement age, older people will have less time for their family. For instance, they do not have enough time to nurture their grandchildren while their parents are at work and they are not able to impart information to them also.

In conclusion, irrespective of the longevity of large portion of people, I disagree with raising the retirement age since it has adverse impacts either on individuals or societies.