Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of traveling to a work place every day.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

The Internet has become increasingly ubiquitous, and it has also become an integral part of our lives. Hence, a contentious dispute has been provoked over whether the merits of working from home outstrip the demerits. In my opinion, it seems that the disadvantages transcend the advantages.

To begin with, telecommuting might have salient features. Saving time deems to be one of this paradigm shift. To enumerate, employees could spend hours in either public transportation or their own motor vehicles in order to commute to their workplace, but by virtue of teleworking, the will be able to perform their jobs from home, so that the wasted hours while commuting to the work will be gained. Therefore, spending more time with families is one of the positive consequences.

Nonetheless, although remote work has undoubted benefits, the negative implications cannot be overlooked. One of these serious repercussions could be obesity epidemic because those who work remotely are sitting all day in front of computers’ screens, which lead to laziness, and they tend to move less. Thus, not only do they put on extra weight, but they also can deteriorate their eyes due to the long hours spent during working. Moreover, when they work from home, they will miss the opportunity to acquire competencies that can be teamwork skills. This is because they have less interaction with their work colleagues.

In conclusion, while telecommuting has obvious advantages, of which saving time is the most apparent, it has disadvantages as well, most notably is obesity. In my view, the drawbacks surpass the benefits.