In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. Physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Education is a movement from darkness to light. Schools and universities are the roadways facilitating that movement. It has been observed that, compared to their counterparts, the female students are more inclined towards pursuing arts subjects. Whereas their peers are more towards science. In this, I will discuss why is that so and if that path should be hindered or not.

Scientifically speaking, it is seen that the female student's brain works more towards how to marvel in spoken or written words and playing puns. They are more pleased by the arts than science, even I have noticed on several occasions in a classroom, that when a girl doodles, it is either a bird or a flower in most of the cases. Such things show that they are more inclined towards arts. To add more, the consensus in many countries is that the female is more in behind the desk and computer jobs. To illustrate, in engineering fields like Mechanical, Civil, the proportion of the female students is often negligible.

The world is moving towards unity and discrimination based on sex is found to be considerably low in many countries and according to me, that should be. I most certainly think that this tendency should be altered. The artistic thinking of the females can be very much utilized in solving many complex problems, which by the way, many a times man are incapable. Not to mention, the acute sense of female in finding the needle in a haystack is uncomparable. Further, who has defined the rules like, this job should be done by certain groups of person only.

The country devoid of such thinking and mindset will often come out good in the world, I think that this tendency should be changed world wide. If that happens a world and society would be a better place to live in. Not to mention the technological advancement, it will boost in a country if varied mindsets are working towards a single target.

To end with, I would say that there are scientific reasons as to why women are more towards arts, but taking it literally can be harmful and would be a hinder to the human development, This should definitely be changed.