Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university in order to travel or to work Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

It is true that these days many highschool leavers choose to work or take a trip before enroll for higher education. While a gap year can have some drawbacks, I would argue that the benefits it brings are more significant.

On the one hand, taking one year break can adversely affect individuals' further study for some reasons. The first reason is that students who decide to start a job after highschool can lose their will to continue their studies. If young people already have a job, they do not feel the urge to enroll for university due to the stable income. The second reason is that gap-year takers might face problems with imparting knowledge later on. Because after a year without approaching to theoretical knowledge, students will have a hard time absorbing new and harder knowledge and catching up with their peers.

On the other hand, a year between highschool and university can have some positive effects. Firstly, young people will gain practical experience if they spend a year working. Having a job is a great opportunity for the youth to develop new skills such as teamwork or dealing with challenging problems and also gaining hand-on experience, which can be helpful for their studies in the future. For example, many individuals choose to start internship in big hotels before applying for hospitality management in university. Secondly, traveling can opens people minds and is a great way to relax before enroll for higher education. Highschool leavers are still young so meeting new people and having new experience will change their ways of viewing the world. Furthermore, traveling is a great stress reliever, therefore, students who take a trip can acquire new knowledge more effectively in comparison with those who continuing their studies immediately.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of a gap year outweigh its drawbacks.