Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, many high school leavers choose to start their work and take a trip before going to university. Although a gap year is not without advantages, its drawback will be far more significant.

On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why the young take a year off before pursuing higher education. First, many adolescents are undecided about their future, either in major choice or career path, a gap year enables them to have some more time to ascertain the right long-term decision. Moreover, this activity helps students to enrich themselves of real-life experience which is advantageous for their future jobs, as a result, they can learn a wealth of working skills such as problem-solving skill, communication and time management while some recruiters often seek. Second, travelling to different places after finishing high school, young people can lead to an improvement in student's social and cultural knowledge. Not only are such experiences conducive to the youth's mature, but these youngsters can also to be straightforward to integrate in the globalised world.

On the other hand, there are many disadvantages for students who spend a gap year. First, while taking a gap year can be a refreshing break for non-stop academic pursuit, many students find it difficult to get back into the schedule and regain the studying momentum. For example, one might be more reliant on earning money to satisfy his thirst for purchase stuff such as cars and technological devices, thus he will be willing to end the path of tertiary education for that reason. Meanwhile, going to university can help the young earn high-salary jobs and good position later as competitive professions, like designers and doctors, always require academic understanding. Second, travelling a gap year can be an expensive endeavour to many young adults, especially students from families with meagre incomes since it costs them a lot, ranging from transport to food and accommodation during that time. Besides, travelling for a gap year can fascinate students in discovering which makes them distract from learning and is a culprit to a decrease of the academic results of students after enrolling university.

In conclusion, the demerits of spending a gap year before following university program are too overwhelming compared to its upsides. Young people should consider their expectation to make the best decision.