Some think that buildings should be constructed with functionality in mind, as it is more important than design. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people have different views about the role and purpose of a building. The issue of what is more important: function or design remains a source of controversy. From my perspective, I suppose to say that these elements are equally important to a structure.

On the one hand, those in favour of the viewpoint that the main role of a building should be prioritised might state their main reasons as follows. It goes without denying that a building must serve its aim in the most effective ways. For instance, a museum has to exhibit a collection of interesting artifacts and teaching visitors something they did not previously know. If the museum neither explain emphatically nor introduce antique objects, the guests may be bored and angry for not achieving their purpose. Therefore, that museum will be knocked out soon due to its lack of serving.

On the other hand, others argue that building should also be well-designed. The first and foremost explanation would be that a building’s architecture embodies the characteristic of the owners, enterprises or even the whole city. Without these architectures, our cities would be much less interesting and attractive. A further reasons would be simply that they are works of art. Whether it is contemporary or conventional, they are all landmarks, creating a unique outlooks of the building itself. For instance, Apple sales store has curve glass that make it stand out among others computer enterprises. Finally, it is evident that they will attract more tourist, contributing to the development of the country’s turnover. In Ba Na Hills, for example, with its fantastic European looks, hundreds of visitors come to see and contribute a huge amount of money to the city.

In conclusion, from my perspective, I find that it is more important for a structure to be well-designed and function smoothly at the same time.