Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a possitive or negative development?

Besides offline course which delivered on campus, now some colleges provide distance learning courses which implement through internet. I believe that this trend have more possitive effect than drawback.

On the one hand, there are some diadvantages of distance learning courses development. The first resons is that, the education quality might be reduced due to online student lack the study environment and needed infrastructures such as library, laboratory. As a result, distance learning students could not assess with invaluable knowledge in huge libraries of universities and mordern equipments of laboratories which play a pivotal role in their academic researches. Furthermore, online course students might lack some vital skills due to the course only focus on provide knowledge. By inteaction with professors and classmates through artificial devices, online course students could not enhance their presentation skills and discussion skills.

On the other hand, I believe the benefits of online courses are outweights the drawbacks. Firstly, distance learning courses offer a golden opportunity for busy people who would like to pursue higher education. For example, a married woman who is always busy with her job and her household chores could not go to school to attend a training course now might broaden her knowledge through online course conveniently. Secondly, students in developing countries would save a huge amount of money which it is spent for living expenses in wealthy nations such as England, American, Canada. For instance, besides high tuition fee, the expenditure of students for house rental, foods each year is very high. In contrast, by distance learning, those students can assess with world level university but with a very low cost.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of distance learning courses, It seems to me that the benefits of e-learning are should not underestimated.