In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

While many developments took place in the field of agriculture, countless people are fighting with hunger in various parts of the world. This essay will examine some reasons and suggest possible solutions to tackle this issue.

First of all, new technologies such as advanced irrigation system, effective fertilizers and insecticides have proven themselves in producing high yield crops throughout the year though they are quite expensive which will affect at the final price of the product. For example, in Sudan, the climate does not support growth of wheat and the need for expensive agricultural technologies is inevitable. This means that the price of bread will increase dramatically after the government subsidy will be lifted in 2010. As a result, not all the breadwinners would be able to satisfy their families hunger. In addition, some governments aim for financial profits through exporting most of the crops rather than achieving self-satisfaction, subsequently making it difficult for local citizens to get reasonably priced food.

However, one way of handling this problem can be through government subsidization of agriculture which will lessen the cost of food products making them accessible for all economical levels. This will dispense the unnecessary fancy agricultural equipment as well. Furthermore, government should put restrictions on exporting activity to make sure that there is plenty for people and finally they should seek alternate techniques that can produce abounds of crops with the possible minimum cost.

In conclusion, advanced technologies in agricultural sector somehow failed to eradicate the hunger problem of many people because of its price. Government subsidy can be a possible solution of this problem.