In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

It is true that apart from the prevalence of agricultural technology, millions of people around the world are still suffering from the lack of food. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted by governments and individuals to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why many people all over the world still could not afford to buy food. The first reason is that the global population is increasing at an alarming rate, especially in developing and underdeveloped countries. This may lead to a great requirement for necessities including food, besides demands for education or healthcare to ensure people’s life, which the governments in these nations find it challenging to manage simultaneously. Therefore, some areas may suffer from a lack of food or even starvation. Second, because of the high price of advanced agricultural machines or imported food, many low-income countries could not afford these to produce food on larger scales. Consequently, a shortage of food may occur.

There are various measures that could be taken to tackle this problem. One of the solutions is that the governments should give top priority to the decrease of the population by raising public awareness about the birth rate. For example, each family should have a maximum of 2 children. Another measure is that governments in advanced countries should take steps to cut down on taxes on agricultural machines or food for poorer countries. Moreover, companies and wealthy people should give assistance in doing charity to support people in remote areas, who usually face hunger.

In conclusion, it is clear that despite the fast growth of agricultural technology, a number of people still suffer from starvation, and many solutions need to be considered to mitigate this issue.