Sports encourage competition rather than cooperation. Therefore, sports should not be encouraged at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the digital age, human plays an importance role in the development of each country. Those who faced with immense pressure from work and study, more and more people begin to realize the importance of physical training program. However, there is a heated debate over whether sports should be encouraged in school. Personally, I cannot see any contradiction between competition and cooperation.

On the one hand, Competition is the driving force of social progress and is a natural instinct in humans. Firstly, competition is healthy because it pushes us to give our best. For example, in a running race, athletes continuously effort to gain good results. If one of them achieve breaking records, this can lead to making others more effort than in next competition. Secondly, competition makes competitors and fans can release energy. Competition brings competitors reasonable energy source to improve their healthy better.

On the other hand, sports not only encourage people to compete but also it require the cooperation between participants to achieve certain goals. Some sports game such as basketball and boat racing require cooperation, and without some athletes and sports stars will not be brilliant. For example, soccer is one of the most popular sport. Soccer implies both fantastic individual skills and good cooperation between the players. Therefore, sports can foster a competitive spirit and strengthen the unity of a class.

In conclusion, competition does not result in hatred between rivalries as expected. On the contrary, it plays a very active role in the building-up friendship and relationship between the people from different religions, cultures and political backgrounds. In my opinion, I totally advocate authority should encourage and introduce sports to students at school because sports have benefits both physically and psychologically.