Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers.

What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

Learners are becoming ever more dependent on technology, such as the Internet and mobile devices. This essay believes one of the main problems associated with dependence on computers is copying original work from others and suggest writing analysis software as the most viable solution.

The principal problem with over-reliance on technology, such as tablets and computers, is plagiarism. Students often use search engines to answer a question and simply copy the text from a website, rather than thinking about the question. This practice is not only prohibited in schools and universities but also stunts a student’s intellectual development because they will never truly think for themselves, which is what university is supposed to really be for. For example, many teachers complain that students copy web pages straight from Wikipedia word for word rather than giving a reasoned answer to their questions.

A solution to this worrying problem is asking students to email their answers to teachers and teachers using anti-plagiarism software to detect copying. Students would be made aware of this practice and this would inspire them to answer questions using their own words, rather than someone else’s. If someone was caught cheating, they could be asked to leave the university and this would set a good example. For instance, many universities already use this kind of software to scan course work for plagiarism and it could be extended to include all homework, by learners in both secondary and tertiary education.

In conclusion, one of the main problems with over-use of technology in education is plagiarism and this can be solved through the use of plagiarism detection software.