Students leave high school without learning the way how to manage their money. What are the reasons and solutions of this issue?

It is true that young people do not have a basic understanding of financial management when they leave high school. However, there are a number of reasons behind this trend and schools and parents should adopt several solutions to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why students do not have any knowledge about finances administration after finishing high school. One reason is that traditional school subjects such as math, science, or language included in the curriculum do not explicitly teach students about personal finance and how to use it properly. Therefore, high school students answer theoretical questions but find it strange to balance revenues and expenditures. Furthermore, students do not understand how to manage their money because their parents have covered all their wants and needs. Hence, pupils graduating from high school only know how to spend money, not how to use it efficiently, not to mention saving it.

Fortunately, schools and parents could take several measures to prevent and solve this problem. The first solution is that basic money management skills can be included in a compulsory subject for students in their high school years, helping to equip them with financial management knowledge and skills when they leave school. The second measure for this problem is that parents should spend time with their children to teach them money management and critical financial values. They can start by instructing the children on managing their pocket money and household expenses.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why students do not know financial management after graduating from high school, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem by both schools and parents because they are the best models for students.