Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things.

What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to reduce the time children spend watching TV and encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Nowadays, the issue that watching TV in children become a dominant form of recreational than other activities and creativities has aroused a great deal of public attention. Although this concern can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions should be taken to address this.

There are some contributions to the situation where children show a tendency to spend time watching TV than other creative activities. First, since, telecast have been growing in number as well as quality, there are thousands of attractive entertaining shows, movies and music at disposal with high-resolution graphic, which triggers children's curiosity to binge-watch all day. Intriguing motions and contents on TV makes children glue eyes on, which also make them lose track of time and forget to their priorities, such as studying. Second, by working with full-time schedules, a busy life has pushed modern parents away from their children and leave their kids with television, leading to a lack of care as well as encouragement. This means that they hardly find enough time to play with their offsprings or encourage them to do some healthier activities like painting which makes children resort to watching TV.

Moreover, there are a myriad of measures which must be implemented to address this problem. First, although schools and teachers play a part, the parent's guidance is the most essential solution. It is advised to restrict the amount of time allowed for watching TV in children which can be done by activating the parental control and setting a fixed operating time limit on television. Second, parents should spare more time playing with and encourage their children to take part in creative activities and provide interesting alternatives. For example, parents could form a family sports team that practices on a regular basis which may appeal to children more than TV.

In conclusion, several factors are cited as the causes of children's propensity for adopting the habit of watching TV more than ever before. Children should be guided and encouraged to do more creative work.