Studies suggest that children spend more time watching TV than they did in the past and they spend less time in doing active or creative things.

What are the causes and what methods can be used to solve the problem?

It is true that, nowadays, children would rather choose watching TV as a leisure activity than playing outside or doing creative things. While there are many various reasons for this problem, there are also many measures that could be taken to tackle this issue.

There are two primary causes that make children spend more time at home and watch TV. Firstly, in modern life, parents are too busy to play or educate their kids, and as result, TV programs would be both educational and entertaining for children. Secondly, the increasing of traffic makes streets become too dangerous to play around. To protect their kids from crowded roads with vehicles, adults would disallow their youngsters to go outside with friends, so the only way that children could have fun is watching movies or cartoons on television.

There are several methods that parents could take to solve the problems described above. The first measure is that allow their kids to participate some centers for children, which have outside activities such as camping, running, playing sports or swimming. Secondly, parents can sometimes bring their kids to playgrounds in malls or supermarkets where they can have fun and play with their friends. Finally, adults should find time to play with their youngsters and encourage them to do creative things at home, including painting, making crafts, playing musical instruments or writing poems.

In conclusion, some reasons why children are spending more time watching TV can be identified, and some simple solutions should be taken to encourage them to do more active activities and creative things.