Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools.

Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of the need for study general subjects at school has constantly been in progress since the development of education.

Proceeding from this, an opinion exists that art learning hides abundance of benefits for students due to its multi-functionality and it should be included in the academy curriculum.

I completely agree with the above-mentioned point of view due to the reasons marked hereinafter.

To commence with, the cognizing process of craft always gives a strong impetus to the person’s overall development. Music, painting, or architecture immerses a pupil into the world of diverse cultures, which certainly greatly contributes to personality growth. Besides, specific subjects like mathematics or physics require several distinctive abilities which may be obtained through creative work. For example, several studies published in the Sculpture Journal revealed a curious fact that sculpting strengthens abstract thinking, attention to detail and memorizing information. Thus, such subject is essential as it fosters a tremendous boost of increasing skills and competencies.

What is more, an additional advantage of creative labor is its commonly known colossal relaxation effect. School period is a rather stressful time when child’s emotional and physical loads continuously increase, and it is vital to protect students from the so-called burnout. By attending compulsory art lessons, children while at school will receive additional much needed and crucial relief. For instance, the American Art Therapy Association published an article where draw attention that participating in creative activities contributes to alleviating the course of chronic mental illnesses, such as autism or depression. Hence, presence of artistic discipline in the educational program is likely to affect the health of students positively.

In conclusion, it may be said that arts integration in the school program is essential. Great potential of enormous progress in skills and beneficial effects on health are perfect confirmation of this.