Task 2: Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods, while others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Packaging and excessive use of plastic products has always been a heated debate. Many people argue that it is manufacturers and retailers who should be accountable for cutting down on the amount of wrapping, while others contend that shoppers themselves should take the responsibility. Both viewpoints will be discussed in this essay which provides the reasons why I opine that organizations and individuals should share the duty.

Advocates of individual responsibility refer to the pressure they can put on producers as a justification for their point. According to these people, every shopper needs to be environmentally conscious and look to the future of plastic-free markets, and force manufacturers to simplify packaging. They believe that consumers’ choices would act as a decisive factor in whether an enterprise remains in business. Therefore, being a savvy purchaser who is fully aware of the disastrous consequences of plastic packages and other non-degradable materials means a lot to the natural environment. By eliminating goods wrapped with unrecyclable materials, such as nylon, from purchasing lists, consumers are contributing significantly to the reduction of pollution while businesses are required to adapt to survive, or they may face a high chance of losing a huge number of potential customers.

Nevertheless, consumers alone cannot get to the root of the problem as they are not the main source of rubbish, meaning that producers should take primary responsibility. Businesses are always active in choosing input materials for wrapping their commodity, which results in a huge amount of trash. Moreover, lessening in multi-layer packaging can be considered economical to not only producers but also buyers as they do not have to pay extra for boxes or bags. If Danisa, which is Denmark’s biscuit brand, replaced its metal box with a more affordable one, customers could be able to buy the product at more reasonable prices. From another angle, the accessibility of plastic in retailers when they offer plastic bags free of charge leads to the fact that customers take for granted the widespread use of this non-ecofriendly wrapper. Accordingly, supermarkets cutting down on non-degradable materials means they are encouraging their product users to be environmentally responsible.

All things considered, although there are diverse opinions revolving around whose responsibility when it comes to reducing packaging, I still retain my original position that it is the common duty of both buyers and producers.