telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades.

how do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

Telecommuting is becoming popular in many countries. The more widespread telecommuting approach is used by various companies, the more significant it would be in affecting our societies and life-styles. although the society are affected both positively or negatively, I prefer to explain two positive aspects.

To begin with, it can omit the time each employee must spend on commuting from his home to the workplace. Furthermore, it saves the transportation cost and reduce the monthly expenditures of workers. For instance, in Tehran it takes averagely 30 minutes for each person to go to his office and depend on the transportation mode he chooses to commute, he would be charged from 5 to more than 100 thousand Toman. It means if the employees did not have to be in their workplace, they could start their job 30 minutes earlier and save at least 150 thousand Toman each month.

Moreover, telecommuting lets companies hire more suitable employees from further distant locations. For example, there are many companies in Tehran whose workers live in different part of the country. With this in mind, companies would have access to the global labor market which allows them to hire most competitive participant for their vacant positions. In addition, they could employ workers from developing countries to pay less salary. For example, Nike as a one of the American big companies, produce their commodities in Taiwan and manage the whole process from the United State by virtue of telecommuting.

In conclusion, the impact of telecommuting in society is undoubtable and as the telecommuting growing, the society benefited from this more than before.