The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern societies, the media has played an important role in transmitting news worldwide. The question of whether the news reports should concentrate on alarming issues or not still remains controversial. Personally, I am convinced that the disadvantages of excessive reports on negative aspects of society can outweigh its benefits.

To begin with, there is no denying that the news on emergencing issues can raise awareness of citizens, therefore, many lives can be saved in certain situations.To illustrate, the news on natural disasters is considered to be the best way to provide a full picture of what dangers people are facing with. Another significant example is the positive effect of reports on smoking-related illnesses which can encourage people to have a healthy lifestyle.

However, successive transmission of news on problems can provide the citizens with pessimistic points of view. Consequently, many people can live in fear of dangers due to the misleading information. For instance, the exaggeration of the media on corruption can result in the citizens’s mistrust of government despite its outstanding achievements in improving quality of life.

Another hindrance that should be concerned is the side-effect of detailed reports on crime. In some cases, these can be training sources for the other criminals who want to break the laws. As a result, it cannot be denied that the exceedingly thorough description of crime can pose a threat to the safety of human beings.

In conclusion, I believe that the excessive news on negative aspects of society can bring more harms than goods. The more careful selection of news of the media, the better society will be.