There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need

music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the

International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music exists as a vital element in everyone’s life. There will be no one who don’t like music which acts as a mind relaxing mechanism which is a good time passing and entertainment aspect. Music is generally categorized in to two types, one is traditional music and the other one is international music. Both the types have their own characteristics. In this essay I personally believe that the traditional music is important when compared to international music.

First of all, if we consider the traditional music, it always carries the values and beliefs of a particular country or region and it is classical. In addition to this, the traditional music is taken to all over the world. Further, classical music will be unique and it has its own characteristics and history. For example, Carnatic music illustrates the values of South Indian traditions and it is available in different South Indian languages as well.

In contrast, international music will help to get exposed to different countries as well as different cultures. On the other hand, listening to international music will help us to cope up with the latest musical developments. At the same time, international music assists in filling the generation gap and connects different kinds of people with different tastes. Sometimes this will disturb the traditions and norms of a country and will lead to a culture shock. International music will not have a uniqueness when it comes to a particular country because it is heard everywhere and it has no specific identity.

In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that traditional music is important because we should preserve the classics and histories for our future generation. Whereas, international music exists in our day to day life. Therefore, more importance should be given to a country’s classical music than the international music which is used worldwide.