There is a general increase in anti-social behaviours and lack of respect for others. What are the causes and solutions?

The widespread problem of anti-social behaviours and disrespectful attitudes towards others has long been a major topic of concern in society. There are several reasons resulting in this negative trend and some measures could be taken to mitigate this problem.

In some cases, people may hold an anti-social attitude or disrespect others because they live in an environment where violence and discrimination are the norms. For example, children from dysfunctional families where domestic violence happens on a daily basis could show a worrying tendency of disrespecting women. Moreover, children are likely to mimic tactic and code of behavior of their idols since they are susceptible to extrinsic elements and are easily influenced by celebrites. For example, well-known people who frequently use foul language as well as express their anger and hatred in their songs or their speech are promoted as a role model of strong personality. When there is no one to help young children distinguish between the good and the bad, ill-mannered attitudes may emerge and develop among them without being controlled.

In order to resolve this social phenomenon, there are some feasible solutions to be adopted. Firstly, parents must not underestimate the significance of their guidance for children. If they notice any signs of an anti-social or insolent manner in children, they must provide them with negative evaluations of these signs and show them how to behave in an appropriate way. Moreover, governments should introduce restrictions and supervision on the mass media in order to ensure each celebrity behaves properly. Anti-norm behavior or swears should be taken into account and punished. The most practical one would be to raise people’s awareness about the difference between anti-social behaviors and strong personality.

In conclusion, anti-social performances and lack of courtesy for others stem from many prominent reasons and several solutions coul be implemented to tackle this phenomenon.