There is an increasing trend for people to live on their own and not share accommodation. What is causing this to happen? Do you think it will have a positive or negative effect on society?

No one would deny that more and more people tend to live alone rather than with others. In this letter, I will discuss the possible causes of this phenomenon and believe that this will have a negative influence on our societies.

There are two inevitable causes of an increasing number of single house holders. Firstly, the life style of modern people has become tightened. This means that people have gained higher qualifications than ever and then shortly pursued a career. Even though they are employed, it seems desirable for people to make continuous efforts such as further study in order to be promoted their position at work, instead of getting married or seeking roommates. Moreover, the improvement of standard of living allows individuals to afford a car or a house independently. It can result in a situation where getting marriage or sharing a house is unnecessary for people.

In my view, this increasing rate of single house holders provokes problematic issues on the public. As individuals have lived by themselves, they would have lack of opportunities to dealing with different people. People living in an individualised world would find difficulties in involvement in a community. To take Korea as an example, self-oriented and selfish young people living alone have been caring less about others, which creates preventable social problems such as noise in public place, disrespecting behaviour towards the old, compared to young people residing with others. Therefore, living on their own can be seen as a disturbance of making a harmonious and prosperous society which can be make successfully in sharing accommodation.

To recapitulate, the preference of living alone over sharing accommodation can be caused by the enrichment of living standards as well as strict life patter. However, I strongly believe that it induce a negative consequence for a society as a whole.