These days many advertisements are aimed at children. What effect do you think they have? Should advertising to children be more controlled and regulated?

With the expansion of communication, we are influenced by the diversity of messages and images that seduce us through the most varied form of media. Among them is advertisement, which implicates us to appeal of sale with its strategic manoeuvres. Now, these days many advertisements are aimed at children, which according to me, have opposite effects which are as follow.

Although there are some favourable effects of advertising on children, the fact is that it can also have many negative effects on young minds, especially if parents are not careful and do not teach their children that money is important. These influence their minds, creating the need for them to buy the product they see. Advertisements encourage their children to persuade their parents to have the products, regardless they need them or not and whether they are useful or not. Many throw tantrums and use different tactics to force the adults to get them what they want. In addition to this, the commercial ads have put adversely affect on young children. Many business promotions of junk foods, unhealthy beverages have changed the eating habit of adolescent. These ads encourage unhealthy eating, which in turn has led to an increase in obesity, diabetes, heart problems and other severe disease in teenager.

Furthermore, many ad agencies use sexual content which pollute the thinking of growing children. They use beautiful young women to attract buyers. Form chocolate to clothing, every ad seen is sexual in nature. Children both young and teenagers have a negative prospective and this impact them in many ways. For example, young girls think that if they do not look or act sexy like woman in ad, they will not be accepted.

By citing the above mentioned downside, there is a need to be controlled. The government should make regulation or law to avert the gravity of the situation. Not only government but parents should come forward to monitor the behaviour of their children in context to ad.