These days, some schools introduce behavior of what is ‘right’ and ‘wrong’. This responsibility should be limited to parents. To what extent do you agree?

Children, the promising future of tomorrow, need to be nurtured to become responsible citizens. They should be taught about the positive and negative consequences of their behavior. However, there is a difference in opinion, whether this teaching should happen at home or in schools. Here, I would like to account for both sides with my own perception.

There is no doubt that parents play a significant role in their children’s well-being. Children spend most of their time at home and it is where they learn most aspects of life. Thus, parents should make their young ones understand the difference between good and bad. They could give some real life examples to exemplify better. However, parents’ tendency to educate children about ethical values depends on their own personal nature and family background. For instance, people holding extreme religious or political views could impart their children with the moral values that would differ from the general society as a whole.

On the other hand, a factor that needs attention is how schools are important in guiding children to realize their potential. More than getting knowledge, children receive many skills from schools. For example, they learn teamwork, cooperation and mingle with pupils coming from different backgrounds. Thus, in addition to teaching studies, schools could also initiate teaching to students about ethical behaviors. Teachers have the ability to impart anything in the student's mind and thus educating children about right and wrong in schools would be a better option.

To sum up, children must be nurtured about the right behavior, in spite of the location, where it happens. Hence, I assert that both the teachers and parents should hold the responsibility in inculcating moral values in children to enable them to live as useful, productive and respected members of society.