Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that

it would be better for the economy & environment if people ate food produced by local farmers. Would

the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

As food at farms has to be delivered thousands of miles before reaching consumers, there is an opinion that the economy and environment will be beneficial when people consume food from local farmers. However, I personally believe the advantages of this point cannot outweigh disadvantages.

Firstly, the advantage of consuming local food is the profit it may bring to farmers. In particular, farmers can sell food directly to consumers instead of via traders, which minimizes the trading fee. As a result, farmers are likely to earn more money and improve their living standard. The second benefit is, less preservatives might be us ed as it does not take several days to deliver food anymore, which can in turn reduce the environmental pollutants. Also, without the delivery services, consumers may enjoy better prices from buying local food.

On the other hand, this issue can have lots of disadvantages, especially for consumers. Many jobs created from trading activities, such as transporters, retailers,... will be eliminated because there is no need for them when farmers can now sell food themselves. Having less jobs can cause the unemployment rate to be higher, which then impacts negatively on the economic growth as a whole. Moreover, each region will have certain conditions for producing only some types of food due to the differences in climate, labor forces and soil quality. This mea ns not all types of food can achieve high quality as consumers expect, leading to dissatisfaction and substandard supply in the local market.

In conclusion, it takes miles to provide daily food to consumers. Although eating food from local farmers has some advantages, its negative sides on the economy and benefits of consumers should be considered more seriously.