Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, regardless of the dramatic impacts derived from purchasing foodstuff that is thousands of miles away, a group of individuals reckon that eating food yielded in the local area could have more positive outcomes for the environment’s conditions and the economic activities. Though there are numerous demerits from this statement, I strongly hold a belief that its merits eclipse its downsides.

On the one hand, there are few rationales to demonstrate why the consumption of local foods results in detrimental repercussions in the various aspect of human’s life. The first drawback is a shortage of new-emerging food experiences considered as one of the most crippling problems via eating municipal products. In fact, there is an increase in the number of citizens taking their long period of time to transform their taste by virtue of not being intriguing for local food which seems not to trigger far-reaching changes from time to time. Another fact is that the disadvantage of increasing the product’s cost without any hesitations from the local farmers because of insufficient commodities. As the product costs are accelerated, the consumers would take their expenditure into consideration prior to their purchases.

On the contrary, despite these aforementioned downsides, its merits could bring a variety of beneficial ramifications in terms of the environment and the economy. First and foremost, it is when the upsurge of consuming food products makes a tremendous contribution to curbing the unemployment rate which has posed a multitude of impediments to the governments over the past few years. This prevailing phenomenon is to generate a host of works for people suffered from being unemployed. Hence, if this measure is implemented, not only will they be earned the amount of money to retain their life, but also enhance the strides of the national economy. In other words, by opting a plethora of foodstuffs for the consumption from places or shops which are far away, exerting detrimental impacts on the environment. When the product of food which is transported from far-off destinations, have a predisposition to discharge a large influx of gas emission to the environment. More consequently, this would not only plunge the environment into utter destruction but also take its toll on people’s health condition.

In conclusion, as cited above, in spite of negative corollaries in respect of eating local products, I concur with the idea that consuming local foods are able to reap an array of benefits more than its disadvantages.