Today, there are more images of disasters and violence in the media. What are the causes and what are your solutions?

Nowadays people are inundated a range of catastrophic and violent pictures. I believe the main reason for this phenomenon lies in media agencies’ pursuit of profits, and government and media companies should work side by side to tackle this problem.

Media agencies are to blame for the increasing number of violent and disaster-related images nowadays. Private companies in newspaper, television programme and radio broadcasting fields, at their cores, are profit-making companies who focus on drawing more audience’s attention to outcompete their rivals. Such is human nature that people tend to be concerned about negative information, so disseminating information related to violence or disasters is no doubt an efficient way to hook viewers and engender discussions. For example, a recent poll conducted by the BBC news found that 79% of its application users included crimes topic to their favorite news feed.

In order to tackle this problem, a concerted effort from governments and media companies should be encouraged. Firstly, some degree of censorship from the government is necessary to help control the number of negative images and curb the distribution of bloody pictures which might do a disservice to the emotional wellbeing of the public. Fines needed to be imposed when companies are found violating relevant rules. Secondly, media organizations ought to shoulder the responsibility of creating a more positive social environment. Media networks need to allow diversity in their coverage by including more positive news and information, in which way diverts pubic attention and therefore foster an optimistic social environment. Only by doing so can we ensure a more balanced and objective coverage from the media.

To conclude, while media organizations’ profit-making nature is the main factor fueling the over- exposure of catastrophes and violence, I believe a joint effort from government and media should be exerted.