Topic: Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

Food is one of important demand that help people survive. However, it is true that a huge amount of food are thrown away every day. This essay will look at the reasons for this problem and propose some solutions to mitigate it.

The primary cause of the problem is the low quality of storage methods that lead to spoilage of food. Take the way people store fruits and vegetable during transport in some developing nations as an example, people often use plastic sacks that result in squashing phenomenon. Hence, before consumption, all of them go bad and should be thrown away. Another problem is the price of food products is low nowadays. Many people, therefore, can easily buy a great deal of food to satisfy their hungry stomach. However, they sometimes buy food greater than their demand and the consequence is they will waste the remaining food.

One way to solve this problem is to improve preservation strategies. Using plastic crates, for example, instead of plastic sacks can prevent transportation damage and cut down on that waste or using plastic wrap to cover remaining food before putting in the fridge. To cut back on food waste, people should learn to become smart buyers. They should plan what really need before going shopping to avoid impulse buys. This way, people can easily choose, shop for and prepare meals. Not only do they contribute to food waste reduction but they also save their money and time.

In conclusion, waste food is an alarming issue in over the world. People should apply some practical solutions which are to improve the preservation way or learn to become a sharp purchaser to combat it. I think failure to tackle this problem will lead to it escalating out of control, so people must prevent it from now.