TOPIC: With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The technological revolution made a significant impact on reading habit of people in modern society. The role of paper books is gradually replaced as a result of domination of e-books. I take the view that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be analysed in this essay.

It is generally acknowledged that e-books opened the new world for readers with wonderful experiences. Firstly, people are given much more freedom of choices. Just by a click, a sea of books in endless genres, authors and languages are performed without restricting in space of book stores or libraries. Secondly, time and place for reading are controlled proactively. The reading becomes convenient as never before when we could enjoy our favorite books whenever and wherever we want with a handy phone or ipad. Finally, financial handicap has been no longer a source of anxiety. With traditional method, people sometimes couldn’t afford for their interest, which is now solved with innovative style of reading book because all of knowledge on the internet is free of charge. Viewed from this angle, e-books contribute to foster reading culture all over the world.

However, the negative impact of reading books on the internet have been much discussed. To begin with, as a consequence of free available data on the internet, people seemingly take it for granted and underestimate the value of reading and lose their interest easily. In addition, it is worth mentioning the risky effect of e-reading on our health, especially for the faculty of sight. Sticking eyes on screen for a long time leads to eye-strain and other potential visual problem. Last but not least, undeniably, the invention of e-books poses a challenge on printing industry, which has been caused a considerable number of book publishers on the brink of bankrupt.

In the end, these above analyses should that e-books has both pros and cons. However, it is my firm conviction that it is an inevitable trend given the fast-paced development of technology.