TOPIC: some people think that the best way to reduce crimes is to apply longer prison sentences, other people think that there are better methods of doing so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Associated with the development of society, the rate of criminals has increased, which brings a source of anxiety. Some people regard prolonging prison sentences as the most efficient method to reduce crimes whereas the others claim that there are several approaches to restrain this issue. Although I am in favor of the former opinion, I will discuss both of viewpoints in this essay.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that instead of punishing, restricting the risk to happen of a problem is more important. Accordingly, in order to limit the escalation in offence, initially taking control over illegal actions is seemingly a wiser choice rather than taking measures to resolve the consequences. For this reason, national governments all over the world are making desperate attempt to prevent social evils through the wide range of laws and policies.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are several explanations for why extended prison terms will come into effects if implemented. Firstly, sending more time in jails will minimize the chances for criminals to get access to society and commit a sin. Secondly, even when being at large, it is hardly made certain that the ex-prisoners wouldn’t involve in crimes for a second time. Finally, as well as the most obvious benefit of this punishment method, a strict judgment will deter the other cases from being against the law.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against this problem. However, it is my firm conviction that in current situation, lengthen the period to do time of prisoners are the sharpest choice to bring crime decline.