Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

In recent years, it is increasingly trending in giving qualifications through distance learning instead of studying and directly interacting with teachers in the traditional classroom. While this trend can bring certain drawbacks, I would argue that the benefits it has are far more significant.

There are several disadvantages that can be seen from the growth of undirectly offering qualifications through distance learning. The first disadvantage is that it does not properly assess the true ability of the student. Since answers for papers are uploaded free online, this may increase the reliance of students on these available sources to cheat in exams while, at the same time, demotivating them from practicing their knowledge. Regarding the theories and information delivered through online lectures, they are sometimes heavy and superficial. Therefore, students may face numerous difficulties when putting the acquired knowledge into practice.

Nevertheless, I suppose that this trend is suitable for the development of society and its advantages can overshadow the aforementioned disadvantages. Firstly, the idea of switching to online learning is reasonable because it ensures both safety and educational connection in the context of the Coronavirus pandemic. Social distancing rules require all citizens to stay at home, and all social gatherings are banned, meaning that online education is a must, leaving students with no choice but to attend online classes to continue their learning. Moreover, despite the lack of practice, distance learning recompenses students with excellent computer skills. This is completely consistent with the development of the times when today most jobs require computer proficiency. Therefore, distance learning and receiving a degree is meeting many benefits that far outweigh the disadvantages that it brings.

In conclusion, although the rapid growth of online studying through the Internet is dominating the traditional method of studying, we can not disagree that it is suitable for the development of times and its convenience makes our life become more modern.