Video records are a better way to learn about the way other people in the world live rather than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With technology becoming increasingly prevalent, it is thought that watching videos to learn about other cultures is a more effective method than reading written documents such as magazines or books. While this assertion could be true to a certain extent, I would argue that reading is a better option in some circumstances.

Clearly, videos can be considered as one of the most powerful facilitators in acquiring knowledge about different ways of life around the globe. In fact, videos provide viewers with realistic and vivid illustrations of the countries, enabling them to effortlessly get a better grasp of what life is like in other cultures without having to use their imagination while learning. For instance, learners can easily visualize Western cultures such as their greetings, traditional foods, or typical types of clothes as well as weather conditions via videos. Image and sound effects also leave stronger impressions on viewers compared to written documents such as books or magazines, hence, facilitating their long-term memory.

On the flip side, videos are not always available and accessible for all types of learners. In particular, those living in remote mountainous areas may find it challenging to get access to the internet or possess a computer. Therefore, learning about other communities through short films seems to be impossible. In this case, printed materials such as books and magazines appear to be more predominant and irreplaceable. Moreover, avid readers would prefer to read paper-based documents rather than sit in front of the screen which they find unappealing.

All things considered, video watching can be effective in delivering colorful images about global lifestyles and fulfilling their curiosity. However, I still maintain that it is not an optimal option for some types of learners due to its low accessibility. Thus, people should opt for suitable approaches depending on their financial health and preferences.