Violence portrayed on TV and in the movies leads to an increase in crime in our society. People who watch violent movies are more likely to become criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

Since the time the television was invented in the 1940’s, it has been the foremost form of entertainment for the young and the old alike. The amount of information and entertainment available on TV was unparalleled till date. The television has always been a part of a families entertainment time.

The with the advancements in technology and easy access to low-cost equipment, there is far more variety of programmes available, from drama to comedy, from sports to adventure, and from food to fighting. Among other things, there is loads of violence and sex programmes and films available to watch at all times. As television is watched by people of all ages, including children and the access to all this content, television is a dangerous place. The children are too innocent to decipher between the right and the wrong. They easily get influenced by the violence shown on TV.

The way a villain’s lives is depicted as adventurous, attractive and full of fun, kids get influenced by the way the fictional character walk, talk and interact with others in film’s and programmes. The kids see the act of smoking, consuming alcohol, and tottering guns and fighting, as a way of life. Long exposure of such content to a child leads to the imitation of such behaviour. To add to all this is the little time parents spend with children due to long work hours. This lack of attention from parents and no one to correct their behaviour at an early stage leads to a negative prejudice mind.

To conclude the topic, I would like to suggest that it is mandatory that the government should bring law’s that deal with restriction of content. Also, set parameters to regulate the quality of content that is allowed on television. The unrestricted content has made adults and young once take up crime and lead to an overall depletion of the society.