We are increasingly becoming dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used in the future? Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits?

These days it is hard to imagine doing a business without involving computers since these machines have substantially alleviated the burden of manual work. The potential of computers is unprecedented: robots, run by computers, can conduct different variety of difficult surgeries; intelligence agencies can carry out reconnaissance operations just sitting in front of a computer connecting to satellites; et al, and is increasing.

Nevertheless computers appeared in the end of the last century, the utter prospect of the machines can be obtained in the mid of twenty first century, according to NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) and MIT (Massachusetts institute of Technology). Currently such projects as AI (Artificial Intelligence) are being intensively developed by corporations like Apple and Google. “Siri”, for instance, the product of Apple, has already learned to respond comprehensively to questions of its owners. The fact that “Siri” is only few years old provides us with a notion that futuristic future is not so far; like in fantastic movies where AI behaves as equal to human being or robots exist as a nation in the Earth. Thus, full capacity of computers still remains undiscovered.

How good is this dependence on computers and what can bring the machine when we achieve its full potential are questions that may deter us from achieving it. Advantages of the dependence, however, can overwhelm drawbacks since computers have made our lifestyle significantly convenient. For example, every household appliances are run by electronic circuits, mathematicians no longer need to make calculations of massive numbers which is now done by computers, or surgeries conducted with assistance of robots at hospitals. These are the examples of explicit advantages of computers.

Computers are one of the most essential inventions of mankind. The machines have improved our way of life and yet its most potential remains undiscovered. Thus, we have to use its benefits as well as be suspicious about what lies in shadows since everything unknown should be treated with caution.