As well as making money, business also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that besides making profit, enterprises should have social responsibilities or not still remains a source of controversy. In my opinion, I totally agree with people who claim that businesses should not only make more money but also have social responsibilities.

On the one hand, maximizing profits plays a vital role as a core function of every firm. It not only helps to grow the business, but also has ability to provide great benefits for community. For instance, the more wealthier a company is, the more tax revenue government can take from it. As a consequence, the government can use this amount of money to invest in key fields, including science, education and health care, which leads to an improvement for local standard of livings.

Furthermore, large corporations can make considerable decrease in the unemployment by providing job opportunities.

On the other hand, to achieve sustainable development, enterprises must have social responsibilities. Firstly, their activities have effect on environment. The firms just only focus on growing profit may cause a serious environmental degradation and strongly opposed waves within the community. Corporations both have to obey the law and produce long-lasting as well as environmentally friendly goods. They also have to take the responsibility to install waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical waste directly into environment. Secondly, annual charities and financing scholarships for those who are either less fortunate or talented can help enterprises enhance their public image.

In conclusion, although generating profit is the fundamental principle of business, I consider that all businesses should conduct their business in a socially responsible manner.