As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether companies should have responsibility for local community or not. While I agree that the top priority of companies is to generate profits, I believe that they should also have social responsibilities.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why businesses should only focus on their work. Firstly, not every companies can afford to give the society a hand. As the majority of businesses are small scale so they usually not financial stable, which means they are not capable of providing support to the community. Secondly, many people believe that taking care of the society should be governments' job. Businesses already contribute to the development of the society by paying their taxes so it is governments' responsibilities to allocate the money to enhance citizens' lives. Furthermore, if companies have to carry social responsibilities, they might face fund shortage problems when trying to expand their businesses.

On the other hand, I would argue that apart from making money, companies should also have to take care of the society. The first reason is that societies can gain benefits from the time and resources provided by companies. For example, many businesses help building local parks or libraries in their neighborhood. As a result, such positive activities can improve citizens' lives significantly. The second reason is that helping the society will also benefit companies' business. By conducting works such as charities or volunteering jobs for local community, staffs can become closer with the local residents and, therefore, gaining reputation for their companies. Getting company's image enhanceed will certainly have positive impact to their businesses.

In conclusion, I believe that beside profits pupose, companies should also have social responsibilities.