What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

These days more and more people decide to move abroad, especially youngsters. Clearly, there are both upsides and downsides for such a brave / difficult / strong choice. On one hand, living abroad from their original country changes the character of people, enriching their interaction and communication skills. On the other hand, they might experience solitude and suffer the distance from their home and family.

Firstly, there are professional benefits that are connected to live abroad. Young students become independent, being detached / away from the protective nucleus of their homes. For example, college students have to manage their finance, washing machines and cleaning without any external help. As a consequence, they gradually become independent and at the end of their period abroad they will be real adults.

Moreover, outside of their country workers have the opportunity to enrich their curriculum by studying the local language. It has been shown that nearly 80% of the employers check for bilingual abilities in CVs when hiring new staff, since it guarantees mental flexibility and adaptability to changes.

However, there are some drawbacks of being away from home and from the reassuring environment of the native country. The most evident is that over long periods of time away from home become painful. Usually, homecoming is frequent during the first three months abroad and it is mainly due to fear of solitude. Being afraid of feeling alone is one of the main causes of depression and stress.

To sum up, deciding of leaving the country of origin has both positive and negative sides. This might be beneficial to young people to become independent and achieve higher qualifications, even though they will have to struggle against the distance from their parents and old friends.