Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
I disagree with the notion that wild animals are redundant in the current century and
therefore we need not waste our precious resources in protecting them. I believe that the
conservation of these species should be our top priority as they are our most precious
resources. In the following paragraphs I shall put forth my arguments to support my views.
The most important reason for saving wild animals is that they are part of our ecosystem.
Every species of wildlife plays a role to maintain the balance of life on Earth. Thus, the loss
of any species can affect us directly or indirectly. Let us consider species to be like a brick in
the foundation of a building. We can probably lose one or two or a dozen bricks and still
have a standing house. But by the time we have lost 20 per cent of species, we are going to
destabilize the entire structure. That's the way ecosystems work.
Secondly, wild animals provide many valuable substances such as medicine and fur. The
horn of the rhinoceros has medicinal value and the fur of the mink is very valuable. The
recreational viewing of animals at zoos is also a source of revenue. Thus, the financial value
of wild species is important to the economies of many nations.
Finally, wild animals have aesthetic appeal. They are beautiful creatures of nature and are a
part of our bio-diversity. Their beautiful and mysterious life has enchanted mankind since
the dawn of evolution. Scientists have been awed by observing their behavior. Such study
has helped scientists understand how the human body functions and why people behave as
they do. Scientists have also gained medical knowledge by studying the effect of many drugs
on these animals.