Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern world, there is a tendency that peace should be provided in any sphere of life and to solve the conflicts by peace in order to avoid violence. Especially, after the wars took place in the 1990s, the world started to live much more peacefully than the previous centuries. Today, politicians or state governors tend to find a way to avoid violence or wars by using diplomatic ways. And from this point of view, most countries made a decision to their legislation systems, such as abolishing the death penalty. However, they say, without capital punishment, the folk of a country can`t live in security and the percentage of violence will go up. In terms of controlling violence in societies, the death penalty is important.

Somehow, there might be righteous sides of this thought. In my opinion, this punishment method should be removed. Because if a criminal thinks that he or she can go to jail for what has been done despite lose time just for several years and get out of prison, it is nothing for him or her. But, there might be special cases that, the criminal has done and no alternative ways to punish him / her behaviour.

On the other hand, I think that capital punishment can not help the victims to bring back their loved ones who were killed. Secondly, the death penalty is a type of violence in itself in the modern world. Because nowadays, the world is based on negotiations rather than conflicts. We should keep in mind that the death penalty is one of the types of brutality.

To sum up, avoiding any kind of inhumanity, the capital penalty is not the only choice and there can be many alternatives to rehabilitate criminals by the help of contemporary tools, such as life sentence.