Write a compare/ contrast essays about two types of housing of students

Accommodation seems to be very student’s concern as they enter university. Two of the most popular options now are living in a dorm and living in their own home, which are vastly different in many noticeable aspects including the level of privacy, practical experience and access to school’s facilities.

To begin with, though living on campus and at home both provide students with necessary personal space, the extent of privacy differs significantly. Living at dormitory means they have to share your living space and facilities with others instead of having your own room. From this point, living in such a shared room like a dorm is quite less comfortable than living with parents. However, in terms of experience, living apart from parents helps students explore themselves as well as develop crucial skills that will never be acquired if they live at home. Specifically, as they live with strangers, they can learn to communicate, build good relationships and manage their own life without preference from their family. Whereas, living in their own house, where their parents cater for all of their needs, will restrict their long term development. Additionally, easy approach to university will be a huge advantage of living on campus. For example, when students forget to bring anything, they can come back to the dorm to take it and still arrive at their classroom on time. Meanwhile, living at home means students have to commute from and to school, which not only costly but also inconvenient.

In conclusion, these two types of housing vary in lots of ways. To find out which kind of accommodation suits the best, all the differences and personal conditions should be taken into consideration.