Young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effects on young people and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Now a days, youngsters prefer to visit shopping malls when they are free. It is believed by many that this is harmful for both an individual and society. I completely agree that although everyone has the freedom to spend their leisure time as they like, spending free time in shopping malls is detrimental to a person as well as society.

From an individual’s perspective, firstly, it is a wastage of both time and money if young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This is because they can use their time constructively if they play their favourite sport or go to a music class in their free time which will also be good for their health. It is not unusual for anyone to be tempted to buy an attractive dress or a pair of jeans which they may already have. Secondly, a leisure walk is more exhausting due to which the younger generation tends to eat junk food, such as pizza or hamburger which is bad for their health.

Since young people are the future of a nation, productivity of society will be lost, if youngsters do not utilise their free time wisely and if they are sick or unhealthy, which will further put burden on health care system of that society. This is evident in Sydney Australia, where a higher percentage of younger people visit their free time in shopping malls and tend to splash money on munching chips and fast foods. As a result, they suffer from obesity and diabetes putting a stress on health care system.

In conclusion, in my view, youngster make use of their leisure time of course for recreation, but not in shopping malls which has a bad impact on them as well as society.