Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an increasing concern that there are many young people who commit crimes. Some people argue that these juvenile offenders should receive the same kind of punishment as adults. I disagree with that idea.

The primary reason why teenage criminals should be tried in a different court from that of adults is that they are more impetuous than adults, they are inherently less responsible for their acts, and are therefore less deserving of harsh punishment. There is no doubt that young people are easily influenced, and follow groups with whatever ideology they find cool without thinking carefully about their decisions and where it would lead them. For example, in the US there was one a case when a young student massacred the whole school because he tried to imitate a popular shooting game he was playing; he did not understand that while the characters in the game did not die from gunshots, in reality people do.

Moreover, adult trial should be avoided for young trouble makers because there is a more effective alternative-rehabilitation. Rehabilitation, if done right, can have a more lasting effect to deter youngsters from recidivism as compared to incarceration. Young people’s personality is not fixed yet, unlike adults’; also, as aforementioned, their moral understanding has yet to be fully established, and thus they lend themselves more susceptible to rehabilitation and education process. Furthermore, since they are still young, with a long future lying ahead, a criminal record would stigmatize them and stunt all their chances at a proper career.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that treating both young and mature lawbreakers equally is not the proper measure to combat crime. This is because they are yet to fully comprehend the repercussion of their actions; furthermore, they can be rehabilitated and educated more easily than adults can, and lastly a criminal record would be too harsh for their future prospects, considering their young age.