Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. (opinion) Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The machinery automation has been made people better off in many situations, especially on the field of labor intensive industry. Connected with this comes with the discussion on the reducing working hours of the labour who are working in these industries. However, in my opinion, the idea has not thoroughly considered the serious consequences that can incurred to our economy and society.

Firstly, the idea does have negative influences on our economy. Reducing working hours is one thing, salary downturn is another. At first, people who does not make enough money and would perhaps cut down the non-necessary expenditures like watching movie. The revenue of these kind of businesses would be inevitably impacted and start lay off their employee. This ripple effect would go on other sector of business and finally affect the whole economy. The devastating result on economy cannot be ignored.

Besides, the negative effect on our society can be underestimated. Technology automation has been widely adopted in many mission critical industries. Thinking of the nuclear power factory, computer is controlling all processes and their employees only need to do some routine checking on the nuclear system. Reduction of working hours means that fewer worker or even no people supervise the system. What if the computer run out of control can be catastrophic, no people can take the immediate action to rectify it. It is hard to imagine that the power supply to the hospital is abruptly stopped. It is matter of life and death and is unaffordable to our whole society.

Admittedly, reduction on working hour is appealing to all workers. However, we cannot turn our eye blind on the undesirable effects to our economy and society as stated on above. Personally speaking, reduction of the working hours should not be the outcome of machinery automation. Manual labor should make used of their time freed by the automation to update their own knowledge and technique on the working field instead of simply getting off work earlier.