In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In UK, when people get old they moved to a home with other senior citizen people Because of the neglect or being left out in complete isolation by children. This is the place where they are not only going to spend their time but also the nurses are going to look after them. I believe that it should be the solely responsibility of the government to take care of the expenses instead of their family.

Firstly, Perhaps the most significant and inevitable factor is the rise of inflation in the economy. Although old people have some finances but they are not enough to cope with current economic condition. This has led to the rise in the cost of medicines, which have gone much higher as compared to what prices were in the last three years.For instance, In the recent study made by IMF, 50% to 60% of the old people population are unable to meet the expenses based on a meagre income by the government. Secondly, Government can spend some part of their pubic budget which would help to give them a calm, composed and serene life, while enjoying the end part of their life.

However, it becomes increasingly difficult for the family members to meet the end needs of their parents, while majority of them are suffering from chronic disease. If family were to support the parents, it would result in increasing their expenses by three fold times which can cause them to borrow money from either banks or other institutes.

Overall, it seems reasonable to me that government should increase their public budget in order to fulfil the needs of the senior citizens. They can go for alliance with any of the private insurance companies to reduce the government expenditure to some extent while not affecting the facilities at the old age home.