In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home
with other old people where there are nurses to look after them.
Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.
Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the
family?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from
your own knowledge or experience.
In the UK, the elderly are looked after by caregivers in old people’s
homes. This essay believes that the State should pay for this type of
assistance because of the contribution that old people have made to
their society, and most families can’t cope with the financial burden.
When a person gets to the age where they need help looking after
themselves, the government should pay for this because that person
has given the government tax all their life. In the UK, everyone has to
pay National Insurance and income tax, and part of this should go
towards helping the aged. For example, if a person was making just
minimum wage and paying tax every month for 30 years, this would
add up to hundreds of thousands of pounds, which is more than enough
to cover the cost of taking care of that person when they are old and
infirm.
If the government does not pay, then the bill is left with the family and
most people simply can’t afford this on top of their normal bills. The
average wage in the United Kingdom is around 36,000 pounds and the
average nursing home bills are around 12,000 pounds per annum. The
majority of people are unable to hand over a third of their wage, and
matters are worse if they have more than one elderly relative to pay for.
To conclude, our older people or their families should not have to worry
about expensive nursing bills after they retire because the
contributions they make when they are working should pay this
expense and their families would not be able to afford the bills without
assistance.